Brand new album from Billy Childish’s CTMF!

‘the reason we didn’t sound like the Smiths is because we wanted to sound like this’

40 years ago, Billy Childish, then a 16 year old working in Chatham dockyard formed a group called ‘the Chatham Forts’, and started a journey through punk rock from 1977 to now. Along the way this painter/ poet has released over 140 independent LPs. (SQ 1 is something like his 150th – no one knows for sure.)

As always great lines are delivered with straight faced humour. “The reason we didn’t sound like the Smiths is because we wanted to sound like this” is Billy’s reply to all the reviews of his band’s work during the ’80 and ’90s when they stood all but alone as ‘the kings of garage rock’. But even this Childish denies on the track CTMF – “we weren’t a garage band we were born in a shed”. SQ 1 could be seen as a manifesto of punk rock defiance, a celebration of musical independence but ultimately as true home made rock and roll.

(Few artists have demanded and exerted so much control over their output as Childish. As with his previous LPs, all designs are undertaken by the group, from song writing, recording/producing, track listing, and LP design.)


SQ 1


Formats: LP, CD and Download
  • 1: A Song For Kylie Minogue
  • 2: SQ 1
  • 3: Turn and Run
  • 4: The Good Mind
  • 5: It Points to the Clue
  • 6: By the Way of love and Hate
  • 7: CTMF
  • 8: A Glimpse of Another Time
  • 9: When I Think About You
  • 10: It's Over
  • 11: A Fallen Tree
  • 12: Cadillac