Track list:

  • 1 Outta Sight
  • 2 Here's Looking At You
  • 3 Oh Lies
  • 4 The Longest Day Of Spring
  • 5 Would You Be There
  • 6 The Gift
  • 7 Stay Sweet
  • 8 Friends And Neighbours
  • 9 River Song
  • 10 Let's Get Silly
  • 11 La De Da
  • 12 It's Our Time
  • 13 Say Goodbye

You know what? It’s time for some straight-talking: Piney Gir put the cowboy boots away, shelved the stylophone beatbox, and hit the loudest 12-string open-E chord you ever did hear. Piney Gir released her debut album Peakahokahoo on Truck Records in 2004. She was then the singer and guitarist of all-girl, art-rock, cult faves The Schla La Las. Alongside that, she released Hold Yer Horses, the first Country Roadshow album in 2006 followed by her third album The Yearling on Hotel Records. She came back with a vengeance with the Country Roadshow on Damaged Goods in 2010 for her fourth album Jesus Wept which was widely acclaimed.DAMGOOD386

Now Kansas’ most unique songwriter returns with her finest album to date. “Geronimo!” is pure pop brilliance, a tell-it-to-the-Byrds journey into heartbreak, friendship and new love. After these 40 minutes you’ll have caught the sun and people will ask you where you’ve been on holiday. And the answer will be “I went to LA in the 60’s via the Plastic Ono Band with a twist of Captain Beefheart. I drank the Kool-Aid and I’ll never be the same again.” From the quit-the-bar-hit-theroad verve of ‘Let’s Get Silly’, to the romantic opener ‘Outta Sight’, you’re going to remember why true love matters and why pop music, at least, will never run off with someone else.

‘Oh Lies’ captures the scent and mood of the Beach Boys once they’d stopped surfing and started peering Spectorishly across the bar, pining after the kind of sweetheart you’ll want to marry and take home to mother. This record moves on mellotrons, effortlessly combining a cool sixties chic with some riotous rockabilly moments. It’s the real deal and features guest stars from Brian Wilson’s percussion section to Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club brass DG390(yes, really, The Beatles’ brass!).

Finally, ‘Say Goodbye’ is the kind of closer most bands would sell a bass player to have written, an optimistic funeral march with mariachi trumpets and that tuneful longing for which Piney Gir is renowned. Meanwhile in LA, where the album was recorded with renowned producer Rob Campanella (from the Brian Jonestown Massacre), this album drives everywhere. So get the top down, crank up the volume and… “Geronimo!”

What the press said about GERONIMO!
UNCUT **** – Sweet 60’s pop from Kansas Chameleon
MOJO *** – varying emotions and mutations are part of its unexpected strength
GUARDIAN *** – a retro delight
THE SUN *** – undeniably charming