The Messerschmitt Pilot’s Severed Hand

Track list:

  • 1 The Messerschmitt Pilots Severed Hand
  • 2 A Beauty Of Love That Splits The Body In Two
  • 3 We Hate The Fucking N.M.E.
  • 4 Organic Footprints
  • 5 I Suppose I'm A Poseur
  • 6 Blood Piss And Sperm
  • 7 Where Are The Children That Hitler Kissed?
  • 8 I Wouldn't Want To Be You
  • 9 Good Morning Little Snob
  • 10 I've Been Fucking Your Daughters And Pissing On Your Lawn
  • 11 I Wanna Stop This World
  • 12 Punk Rock Ist Nicht Tot

Originally released on the 2nd of February 1998 and then reissued on the 17th June 2016 this is  one of the best of Thee Headcoats albums, recorded in March 1997 it features a re-recording of their classic single ‘We Hate The Fucking NME’ as well as ‘Punk Rock Ist Nicht Tot’ and ‘Organic Footprints’.Messerschmitt-book

The first pressing of the original issue came in black vinyl with a free 17 page book featuring the story of ‘The Messerschmitt Pilot’s Severed Hand’ by Billy Childish

Originally described by Billy as ‘The best Headcoats album we’ve ever recorded’

When asked again in 2016 he said…

“We recorded this LP live, off the cuff. Most of the song lyrics I sketched out the night before and then made up the tunes on the spot.
We used 2 mic’s – one for bass and drums (set up between the two) and one for voice and guitar. (both through a Selmar 15 amp).
We used the old Revox G-36 1/2 track machine that we inherited off of Tony Pink, local jazz player in 1977.
I’ve always had soft spot for this LP as it embodies my first idea of what a punk rock group would be.”

The 2016 repress features a special VERBOTEN! back cover so that the record could also be sold in Germany, there were problems with the image of Adolf Hitler surrounded by children with his swastika armband as well as the swastika on the Messerschmitt’s tail as well.






The 2016 repress came in either CLEAR vinyl or RED vinyl, both limited to 400 copies.

DG140LP-Clear DG140LP-Red