The Main Attraction

The Main Attraction is another Holly Golightly record, this time it’s a re-issue of one of her early albums Initially released in very limited edition as a 10″ LP and CD in Germany, this classic record is now available as a 12″ LP and CD for the first time. It boasts twelve slowly creeping killer tunes with raspy slide guitars galore. The first tinges of her relaxed country / blues style are in evidence, as is her distinctive snarling songwriting.

Holly Golightly (real name) started her musical career as a founder member of all girl garage band Thee Headcoatees, a Billy Childish / Thee Headcoats splinter group in 1991.

She spent four years as a Headcoatee before breaking away to release her debut record, The Good Things, in 1995. Where the Headcoatees sound was a blend of girl group sounds and three-chord garage-rock with all the original songs coming from the pen of Billy Childish, Holly’s solo sound is more a blend of pre-rock electric blues, folk rock, and less frantic rock & roll.

Apart from the wide range of covers of such artists as Willie Dixon, Ike Turner, Lee Hazelwood, Wreckless Eric, and Bill Withers, Golightly also writes all her own material.

Holly Golightly is definitely the most interesting and diverse artist to come out of the Billy Childish school and is certainly one of the better singer/songwriters of the post-grunge era who gets better with every album.

Since her debut in 1995, Golightly has been very prolific, releasing 13 long play records and loads of singles for a wide variety of labels as well as touring America eight times as well as Australia & Europe.

Holly’s sound has remained remarkably consistent throughout, but each record has a quality that sets it apart from the others. In 1999 she released an album with her friend Billy Childish, on which the two sound like a scuffed-up British version of Nancy Sinatra and Lee Hazelwood. Another is ‘Truly She Is None Other’ probably her most successful so far, it also featured the song ‘Tell Me Now So I Know’ which was picked for the main title theme for Jim Jarmushs movie starring Bill Murray ‘Broken Flowers’. There’s also a great compilation of all her singles and E.P’s called Single’s Round-Up. Her latest release is the mid-price sampler ‘My First Holly Golightly Album’ which is a great way to sample her songs, most of which feature in her live sets.


  1. Holly Golightly – So Far Up There
  2. Holly Golightly – I Thought Wrong
  3. Holly Golightly – Just Once
  4. Holly Golightly – Dropsy
  5. Holly Golightly – If I Should Ever Leave
  6. Holly Golightly – The Sign
  7. Holly Golightly – An Eye For An Empty Heart
  8. Holly Golightly – King Of Everything
  9. Holly Golightly – The Better Of Me
  10. Holly Golightly – Fallapart
  11. Holly Golightly – Seashells
  12. Holly Golightly – Gullible’s Travels